Lord Charles Falconer, Chair
Barrister and Senior Counsel based in Gibson, Dunn & Crutchers London office. Former Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice in the Blair government.

Professor Sam Ahmedzai
Professor of Palliative Medicine and head of the Academic Unit of Supportive Care at the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University of Sheffield.

Lord Ian Blair of Boughton
Cross Bench Peer and former Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police.

Sir Graeme Catto
President of the College of Medicine and former President of the General Medical Council.

Dr Carole Dacombe
Medical Director, St Peter’s Hospice.

Dr Stephen Duckworth
Founder and former Chief Executive of Disability Matters Limited and board member of the Olympic Delivery Authority.

Penny Mordaunt MP

Conservative Member of Parliament for Portsmouth North.

Baroness Elaine Murphy of Aldgate
Independent (crossbench) life peer, Secretary to the All Party Parliamentary Group on Mental Health and a vice-president of the Alzheimer’s Society.

Dame Denise Platt DBE
Member of the Committee on Standards in Public Life.

The Reverend Canon Dr James Woodward
Anglican priest  and Canon of St Georges Chapel, Windsor.

Baroness Barbara Young of Old Scone
Life Peer in the House of Lords and Chancellor of Cranfield University.

We regret that Celia Grandison-Markey, Nurse and Education and Management Consultant for health and social care in the public sector, had to step down from the Commission on Assisted Dying due to constraints on her time and the large amount of work required of Commissioners.  We are grateful for the valuable contribution she made during the early stages of the Commission.